Get To Kno Me!

3 Apr

Many of you… my blog followers… my Facebook fans… clients… acquaintances… some friends… distant family members… know very little about me.

A friend of mine once told me that people want to know you [or at least think they really know you], and relate to you, your problems, your happiness…

Well, my friend… take a sit, grab a glass of wine, relax… and enjoy the ride!

[For the safety of my own and family… I might not disclose certain personal info such as names and locations – lot of creepy people out there! LOL]

Born and raised [up to my 16th birthday] in Brazil. Moved to Florida in 2000. We had nothing [my dad brought very little $ in his pocket for a family of 4]. Thankfully we had amazing friends/neighbors who helped us for months [even years]. We slept on the soft carpet for a long time. Other than groceries, the first thing my dad bought with the money he made working as a contractor was a TV. No furniture! Just an empty apartment, with blankets on the floor [our beds] and an amazing smell of garlic, onions and oil [my mom cooking!].

Mind you that we had a great life in Brazil, with an amazing [my second mom] maid, who worked for us for over 16 years! I still get teary eyes thinking of her!

I no speak engrish for a looong time! If you dared to give me a chance to talk to you… you’d better know sign language! [not the real sign language!]

My first job was at McDonald’s [We love to see your smile!] and I’m proud of it! I was promoted several times from the grill to the french fries! I quit because my boss kept on asking me to mop the floor everyday [Oh Boy! Things you do when you are a kid!]

At 18 years old I gave my life to Jesus [don’t stop readying! This will not turn into a religious subject – just get to know me!] I kid you not… my life was turned up side down – actually, I take that back and rephrase it – my life was finally turned down side up!

I was freaking out with all that was happening, but I knew I had made an important decision… and my life was never the same. I went thru ups and down… a lot of disappointments with the people who preached so highly about God and the church… but one thing kept me focused — and it was God Jesus – the One and Only – the One who has given me the strength all these years – the One who has provided all this time!

My  husband [then boyfriend] came along in 2003 [crazy little head! – all he wanted was enjoy life to the fullest – with his friends – not me! – remember… I’m just the “church girl”]. Little did he know that God had a plan! He also gave his life to Jesus – after a lot of prayer! Three years later, we were Mr. & Mrs..

Another three years went by and we were gifted with our little girl! She was born on September 1st, 2009. She is a blessing! I cant even see life without her!

In 2008… I got me a gift… I call her Miss Canon [she is my business partner! wink!] – with previous training and more training afterwards… I realized I had a talent – it became a part-time job!

It wasnt until last year that photography became my full-time job!

I’m no longer an illegal immigrant sleeping on the carpet floor. I no longer work for McDonald’s moping the floor or flipping hamburgers and french fries. I no longer cry out to God and assume His not listening… I am now a wife, a mom, a business woman… struggling everyday to provide for my family, to love my family… to be the best wife and mom I can be… I am the daughter of the King of kings. I’m a friend, I’m a sister, I’m a blogger, Facebooker

I’m not perfect, I’m human… I’m just like you… trying to strive all that I can to make my loved ones proud of me… to be able to pad on my shoulders and tell my own self – you are beautiful, you are smart, you are how you are meant to be… and I’m proud of you!

Despite all the trouble I’ve being thru, despite all the struggles I’ve gone thru [especially in the past few months]…

Im B.L.E.S.S.E.D

3 Responses to “Get To Kno Me!”

  1. Gabriela Bibi April 3, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I loved reading your blog amiga it brought tears to my eyes, tears of happiness and everything else… I’m glad we are friends and I am inspired by your dedication to first of all GOD, husband, daughter family and friends in general… Keep being this amazing person you are and I KNOW for sure that you will succeed to the fullest as I know God wants you to…. I’m very proud of you and proud to be your friend… Beijos, love you

  2. ohbabyboy April 3, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Oh boy! Girl, you almost made me cry, for real!! You are such a gift from God to my life and is amazing to see His works in your life. I know for a fact that He has plans for your life that you didn’t even dream of, and that each one of them will become a reality. Thank you for being this friend that I can count with, this friend that sometimes makes me wish I could change my zip code:) xo love ya!!

  3. Devon April 4, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    #1 Renata that was a great blog entry!! (not sure if that what you call it) !!! :)
    and #2 you look amazing!!!! Great job with both!!!!

Leave a Reply

